Is FreeNAS for me?

Status
Not open for further replies.

duder1982

Dabbler
Hello,

I am new to the NAS thing, I have dabbled a bit with a external harddrive attached to my network via the router. But that wasn't working out so well. So I wanted to build and actual media server. At the time I started looking at server software the easiest seemed to be Linux or Windows with Plex. But now I have stumbled across FreeNas and wanted to find out if the gear I have will work (which I think it might but may need tweaking). Any ways maybe a little for what I intend to do with it. Store movies, music photos, documents basically all sorts of documents. File sharing between different platforms such as Linux and Windows, and even android devices. Back up of the real important things. I am sure for a dvr like, I would need to use my desk top then just use the media server to store the product, which shouldn't be to tough.

So here is what I have,
Board-X8SIE-F SUPERMICRO SERVER MOTHERBOARD INTEL XEON LGA1156 DDR3
Processor-Intel Core i3 540 SLBTD / SLBMQ CPU Processor 3.06 GHz
Ram-So far I have 2-2 gigabyte ecc sticks in, I have two more, I just need to figure the proper configuration, but can up to 16 or 32 gigs down the road.
I have a 1.5 terabyte hard drive to start with.
I was thinking of looking for a good used 160 gb ssd, but was wondering if a good ole 160 gb sata hard drive would work for the OS. If so tonight I will pick one up along with some cables and have this bad boy up and running in the next day or two.
One more thing what do you recommend for a power supply, as of right now I have a 250 that seems to be working. But was wondering if more power was needed.

If I am missing anything or way off let me know

My computer building skills are limited, but have learned quite a bit. I think this would be a great next step as it is something that my family could use.

Thanks

solarisguy

Guru

HoneyBadger

actually does care
Administrator
iXsystems