Installation query

Status
Not open for further replies.

Megagrumpy

Cadet
I am a total newbie and am slowly working through this. I have downloaded the FreeNAS 11 installer onto a thumb drive and managed to install FreeNAS successfully - ie I get to the screen that provides the 12 options and the IP address. All through the installation process and all through the boot process I keep on getting messages starting with aprobe1 or aprobe 3. Even when I get to the final screen with the 12 options the options scroll up and are replaced with constant aprobe lines. I suspect maybe it is telling me that I have a faulty disk as the disk drives (4 x 500GB) get quite hot. I would be grateful if anyone could explain what is happening. I have tried searching the forums but not sure what to search for!

I attach a screen shot of the screen just before I decided to power down.

M/B: GA-MA78GM-S2H
Processor: AMD Athlon 64
RAM: 8GB

Attachments

• IMG_20170627_165020.jpg
    IMG_20170627_165020.jpg
    295.4 KB · Views: 218

Megagrumpy

Cadet
i have tried booting with only one disk at a time and I still get the messages - although a lot less frequently. Also run Chkdisk on them and they come up clean with no errors. Could it be a problem with the boot thumbdrive?

danb35

Hall of Famer
It's hard to say; usually errors like that will indicate the device that's having problems, but I don't see that with yours. What's the output of camcontrol devlist?

Megagrumpy

Cadet
I assume that camcontrol devlist comes up during the boot process or do I have to go into the command line?

SweetAndLow

Sweet'NASty
i have tried booting with only one disk at a time and I still get the messages - although a lot less frequently. Also run Chkdisk on them and they come up clean with no errors. Could it be a problem with the boot thumbdrive?

I think you have the wrong os installed of your using chkdisk. That program verifies Windows filesystems and if you are using freenas that doesn't exist.