Install failed on Micro server

Status
Not open for further replies.

Red5zero

Cadet
Hi all,

I have a HP Micro server N36L currently running Win 7 Ultimate and it was suggested to me that I give FreeNas a go. So I downloaded the file and burned it to a CD. I loaded the CD into the Micro server as well as installing a 4GB Flashcard in the internal USB header on the MOBO and kicked the process off. The software loads and I get the 7 option screen but before I can enter 1 for Default loading of FreeNas the screen starts coming up with heaps of error messages and it constantly repeats itself.

I will try and get the error message but it is quite long. Any ideas where this is going wrong.

FYI
The N36L is running 4 GB of ram and I have removed all HDD"s and only installed the Flashcard so the OS could be written on that..........

Thanks In advance

P.S
I am also a Noob so please be patient with me...LOL

jgreco

Resident Grinch
That's a "my car won't start, what's wrong" class question.

I believe there are tools available to write a USB key from a PC, so you could see about obtaining the USB image and writing it on the key. You can then test it on another PC, and if it works, then try it on the Microserver and see what happens.

Red5zero

Cadet
That's a "my car won't start, what's wrong" class question./QUOTE]

Yes I know its a bit vague, and thank you for the reply, but how would writing the image to the usb be different to what I am doing.....? I cant imagine what error messages you would receive on basic equipment like this with virtually nothing plugged in.

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Yes I know its a bit vague, and thank you for the reply, but how would writing the image to the usb be different to what I am doing.....? I cant imagine what error messages you would receive on basic equipment like this with virtually nothing plugged in.

Not a clue. That's why its the car analogy. :P