Initial data import

Status
Not open for further replies.

hell0un1verse

Dabbler
Hello FreeNAS community,

I am new to FreeNAS, this is my first post on the forum. I have just finished assembling the hardware and planning to build a 4TBx6 RAIDZ2 pool to store all my data, which are about 3-4TB now, sitting on a couple hard drives after the Synology unit failed a month ago. I read various forum posts, stickies and FreeNAS documentations, it looks like in order to fill the data into the newly created zpool, one would usually do import disk, but my understanding is it would copy everything on the disk into the pool, my question is what if I only want to copy certain folders? How should I import folders individually instead of whole disk, since I have other stuff on it that I don't want to save to the pool.

Also, after I create empty RAIDZ2 pool, I will create empty datasets before I import data, they are mainly going to be CIFS shares, the dataset names and structure will match the folder tree of the data. My question is when importing data into pool, can I import at the root directory and the sub-folders will naturally be copied into matching dataset or do I have to import at each folder level into corresponding dataset?

Thanks in advance!

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
one would usually do import disk
A lot of people seem to run into trouble with this failing for no obvious reason.
I will create empty datasets before I import data, they are mainly going to be CIFS shares, the dataset names and structure will match the folder tree of the data
I suggest copying the data over the network after you have the shares set up.

hell0un1verse

Dabbler
Thanks a lot for the reply. So I guess I will just have to copy the files over from a LAN cable connected machine into each individual dataset on the FreeNAS box.

Robert Trevellyan

Pony Wrangler
At least this way you'll have full control of the process ... and you only have to do it once.

philhu

Patron