Increase Performance Or Accuracy?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Steve Brown

Explorer
My current setup is below and I am looking for what is best to do with 2 SAMSUNG EVO SSD's (256GB). Should I add one as L2ARC? Should I do one as a "Cache Device". I am fairly new to FreeNAS but have been very very happy with it. Just rock solid once you set it up correctly (it took a few tries for me lol). Anyways thoughts and suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Motherboard: SuperMicro X10SLH
CPU: Intel XEON v3 1230
RAM: 32 GB ECC
HDD: 6x - 2TB of WD RED drives these are setup as RAIDZ1 (I might be purchasing another HDD here soon to go to RAIDZ2. I thought using WD RED I would be fine since this was all purchased brand new.)
Currently the OS is installed on a 16GB USB 2.0

I mainly use this for backups and my media server (Plex). It also does some downloading for me (Sabnzbd, Couch Potato, Sonarr/Sickbeard). I am looking to increase performance although its performing quite well. I have it hooked up 10 GB's with my Chelsio adapter and a 10GB Switch.

But it might be better to increase write accuracy just not really sure about all that. Looking forward to what you have to say.

joeschmuck

Old Man
I am looking for what is best to do with 2 SAMSUNG EVO SSD's (256GB). Should I add one as L2ARC? Should I do one as a "Cache Device".
Neither, do not add either one. Odds are you will reduce your performance. There are many threads about this. I'd re-purpose those SSDs for something else. If you are determined to add these then I'd suggest you first add more RAM first.
HDD: 6x - 2TB of WD RED drives these are setup as RAIDZ1 (I might be purchasing another HDD here soon to go to RAIDZ2. I thought using WD RED I would be fine since this was all purchased brand new.)
Realize that you cannot just add another drive and make it RAIDZ2 without destroying your pool. You may already know this but many users do not.