I'm new here, and this is my 1st FreeNAS build

Status
Not open for further replies.

HiddenHand

Dabbler
Hello Guys and Gals,

I'm pretty new to NAS, new as in I just purchased about 1/2 the parts needed for my setup. I've built PC's before but this will be my 1st non-windows, non-android machine. I'm pretty excited about this build and I am certain a handful of my goals are do-able and the other portion is still an unknown to me. My random snooping around here leads me to believe some of you smart guys can tell me if I can or can't accomplish my goals.

Goals:
  • Plex Media Server
    • Movies and TV to 3 different Android devices
    • Android to Chromecast on my private WAN and out of network
    • for use on friends Roku
    • Use as a DVR for Cable/Uverse TV in the future
  • Audio File Server
    • auto collection of meta data for new audio files
    • Stream albums and playlists to android device
    • store and stream Audible audio books to android
  • BitTorrent Server
    • Search for and download torrents from inside or outside of my LAN/WAN
    • Update PMS volumes and Audio File volumes with new content from download
  • Photos, MS Office, personal videos
    • Use as a personal Dropbox to save and organize misc. files created on win 7, win 8, and android machines
  • Email/Webmail Server
    • host 5 email address that I can access with pop 3 clients like outlook and aquamail
    • not a must but I would like to have a custom domain for the "@custom.com" portion
I fully expect some of my goals will have to be amended i look forward to any and all feedback.

Parts list Highlights:
  • CPU - Intel Celeron G1610
  • MB - ASUS H61M-A
  • HDDs - WD 3TB Red x2 (6TB total)
  • RAM - Micron 4GB PC3-10600 DDR3-1333MHz ECC x2 (8GB total)
  • Generic Flashcard reader
  • Power Supply - 400w
I intend to boot from a flashcard, any hardware redflags pop out at anyone?
I am aware that the HDD's are 6gb/sec but board only supports 3gb/sec. Is this an issue?