Howdy! Planning to build a 8x4TB NAS, What do you think?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clayton

Dabbler
Hello everyone! Sorry for the long intro post!

I’m fairly new to the world of storage tech and I felt it's time I dive head first into my first build. I am a Virtualization engineer by trade, working with hypervisors such as VMware/XenServer and a little Hyper-v mostly relating to Citrix Xen~ solutions. Typically my expertise stops there and I have the storage team pick up where I left off. Now after working with so many enterprise solutions over the years I feel the price/performance and usefulness of a personal NAS has become a worthwhile investment and not just any standalone plugin-play NAS device will do so here I am.

My first experience with FreeNas was installing it on an HP DL360 g5 server with 4x (less than 200GB) drives, each configured in raid 0 then using ZFS to raid them together and 16GB ram. Tested BTSync, PLEXmedia server plugins. This looks to be a solid POC so I went ahead and researched/ordered my hardware.

My uses for building my own NAS will be as follows.
  1. Personal Network shares “CIFS”
  2. Sync volumes (tested BTSync and looks to be a viable solution to replace my Dropbox)
  3. Media storage / media server (tested PLEX and appears sufficient)
  4. ISCSI / NFS for shared storage repositories for XenServer/VMware hypervisors

I have already went ahead and purchased all my hardware and currently just waiting for it to come in. Went with what I would assume is a pretty generic build, one which was designed by “Linus Tech Tips” titled “Insane Compact NAS 2014 - 48TB of Network-attached Storage”. I purchased it though Newegg with the only differences being I am only using 8x4TB drives and 32GB ram. I used this combo deal and only multiplied the hdd and ram. http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.1934854