How to migrate ZFS raidz1 to mirror in-place?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Is it possible to migrate from a 4-drive raidz1 to a 2-drive mirror, in-place, in a 4-bay server?

Assuming backups have been done and the 4-drive raidz1 has been scrubbed, I would expect to be able to do something like this:
  1. Remove one of the 4 raidz1 drives. Pool now shows as degraded. Vulnerable, but with a backup.
  2. Add a new, much larger drive.
  3. Somehow create a mirror consisting of the new drive and the degraded 3-drive raidz1. Wait for the resilvering to finish copying data to the new drive.
  4. Remove the original 3 raidz1 drives.
  5. Add the second much larger drive and mirror the one that is already there.
If As it is impossible to do 3-5 above, is there a built-in zfs function to properly copy all data from the degraded pool to a new one?

Many thanks for helping a newbie. I realise this could not be done using the GUI in FreeNAS, and I am not experienced enough with the interplay of zpool and zfs commands, I am afraid.

Last edited:
Ah, I think 3-5 might be impossible. I just read in man zpool:
Virtual devices cannot be nested, so a mirror or raidz virtual device can only contain files or disks. Mirrors of mirrors (or other combinations) are not allowed.

If so, what is the recommended route to solving this? Ideally, the new pool could end up with the same name as the original one.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
As it is impossible to do 3-5 above, is there a built-in zfs function to properly copy all data from the degraded pool to a new one?
Of course, it's half the reason ZFS is so awesome. zfs send and zfs recv.
Just recursively snapshot your entire pool and send that snapshot to the new pool.

Of course, it's half the reason ZFS is so awesome. zfs send and zfs recv.
Just recursively snapshot your entire pool and send that snapshot to the new pool.