How to connect freenas ftp to outside world

Status
Not open for further replies.

texastan1

Cadet
I installed FreeNAS 8.0 and connected FrieFTP to local computer and my XBMC xbox no problem very think worked good.
now i want connect FTP outside world to sharing my drive and home directory,
please help me with step by step i have no network knowledge. sorry my english

N

natelabo

There is a myriad of reasons for setting this up... But do you actually need it? I wouldn't risk it if you don't feel confident in the proper setup of security related stuff. (Users, Shares, Etc.)

Steps:

1) Secure your NAS and Network
2) Set FreeNAS to Static IP on local network
3) Set router to foward port 21 to FreeNAS IP
4) Find out your external IP (whatismyip.org)
5) Set up dynamic DNS if IP is not static (Hopefully your router supports update of a dynamic DNS site, most do)
6) Direct your FTP client to the dynamic name you selected in 5 or use your external ip
7) You should now be connected...

texastan1

Cadet
Thanks for your reply
I have no knowledge networking,can you show me step by step how to setup dynamic DNS on FreeNAS
i have 2wire router

FTP is not secure in the slightest. so i would recommend strongly against it. i never use it on a public LAN for that very reason. if you want secure remote access, look into SSH, SFTP and SCP. Each being something you should read up on and be familiar with before you open them to the world. The Internet can be a dangerous thing.

califrag

Dabbler
FTP is not secure in the slightest. so i would recommend strongly against it. i never use it on a public LAN for that very reason. if you want secure remote access, look into SSH, SFTP and SCP. Each being something you should read up on and be familiar with before you open them to the world. The Internet can be a dangerous thing.

Everything said above is correct. You do not want to open up regular FTP to the outside world. I do recommend taking the above advice and read up on SSH and SFTP.