How many people here are taking SSD and FreeNAS to the max?

Status
Not open for further replies.

elementalwindx

Dabbler
I am thinking of doing a $1,500-2,000~ freenas box.

The hardware I'd like to use is for storage 10 Intel 120GB SSD drives, and for the FreeNas OS a 120GB SSD for itself, 24GB of DDR3, and achieve 4-8 nics teamed together.

Idea is to get as much throughput out to as many computers as possible while providing the most storage possible with some redundancy. I have an all SSD network and I love being able to get 130MB/sec to every single computer at any given time, even if almost all of them are demanding at the same time.

How many people have done a setup similar to this? Is the 24GB of memory over kill? What processor would you commend? Is an i5 or even i7 over kill? Is the 120GB SSD for FreeNAS over kill?

I'm very new to freenas, but when I like to do it, I like to do it big :)

Joshua Parker Ruehlig

Hall of Famer
I am thinking of doing a $1,500-2,000~ freenas box.

The hardware I'd like to use is for storage 10 Intel 120GB SSD drives, and for the FreeNas OS a 120GB SSD for itself, 24GB of DDR3, and achieve 4-8 nics teamed together.

Idea is to get as much throughput out to as many computers as possible while providing the most storage possible with some redundancy. I have an all SSD network and I love being able to get 130MB/sec to every single computer at any given time, even if almost all of them are demanding at the same time.

How many people have done a setup similar to this? Is the 24GB of memory over kill? What processor would you commend? Is an i5 or even i7 over kill? Is the 120GB SSD for FreeNAS over kill?

I'm very new to freenas, but when I like to do it, I like to do it big :)

INFO

If your gonna team NICs for performance make sure you have a switch that supports LACP.

24GB Ram isn't overkill. The more the better. You might as well put 8GB sticks in every slot cause they're fairly inexpensive.