Home Server Questions

racielrod

Explorer
Hello,

I was not sure about posting this here, but since FreeNAS is the top option on my list, I decided to give it a go.
I'm just getting started with my homelab. I'm moving from a wifi router to wiring my house with Cat6, proper router/firewall, switch, patch panel, poe cameras, etc.
I want to move from 3-4 external hdds and the "honey where the heck did we store our last trip's pictures" model to a NAS.

These are my use cases:
  • NAS
  • Virtualization: BlueIris or Zoneminder for IP cameras, home-assistant for home automation (this is running on a PI at the moment, and can stay there if needed), 1 linux vm for learning/testing new things.
  • Plex or Kodi: This is not a current requirement, but I see myself going that route in the near future.
I have an old desktop collecting dust and I thought it would be a great fit for FreeNAS
  • Intel Desktop Board DH67BL
  • Intel Core i3-2100
  • 16 GB RAM
  • 3 - 3 TB WD Reds (Not part of the original desktop but I have these)
Off course that was before I read about ECC requirements for FreeNAS. I know I would be able to run on that hardware, I just don't like the idea of potentially losing my data.

These are some additional constrains:
  • Low noise: I don't have a basement, anything I build/use have to be quiet. My network equipment is all fanless for this reason.
  • Low power: Not high in the list but nice to have.
So I find myself in a position trying to decide between these 2 options:
  1. Buy a Synology/QNAP type of appliance and then use the old PC for my virtualization needs.
  2. Build a new server-grade small FreeNAS and use it for both NAS and Virtualization.
I would really appreciate any advise/recommendation you might have.

Thanks,
R. Rod.

garm

Wizard
Hi and welcome to the forum.