HGST 6TB Drives Run Much Hotter Than WD RED 2TB Drives

Status
Not open for further replies.

joeschmuck

Old Man
Well I thought I'd just post this quick blurb on my experience with my new HGST 6TB Drives (Model HDN726060ALE614) running at 7200 RPM.

Note: All the temps are while the NAS is in my computer room (~22C), in the basement it is much cooler so running temps when I relocate the box will be lower.

First of all, my WD Red 2TB drives ran at 28C to 32C 99% of the time, warming up slightly another 2C during a scrub. The fans blowing air across them were running at 7VDC to make the fans nice a quiet. All was good in the world.

So now I've been running these WD Reds for over 5 years and I thought it would be a good time to replace them with four 6TB drives, the model didn't bother me, I just needed to meet my price of $160 each. So the HGST 6TB Deskstar drives running at 7200 RPM sounded good to me. I knew that they would run a little warmer but I had no idea how much that would really be.

So I burned in the drives and used a house fan to keep everything cool (I had my six WD Reds and the four HGST drives connected) as the HGST drives were not mounted anywhere, they just laid next to the case. I eventually created a new pool and copied all the data over. About 4 days ago I reconfigured the case and removed the WD Reds and installed the HGST drives. I let these run for 3 days and then started to monitor the hard drive temps. These drives were running from 39C to 45C. I verified this over a 12 hour period and taking a temperature check every 30 minutes (using a scriopt to email it to me).

Just over an hour ago I reconfigured my cooling fans to run from 12 VDC vice 7 VDC and of course now I can hear the cooling fans run, not loud but it is noticeable in a quiet room. But the temps have dropped to 34C to 40C which is much better.

But now I need to troubleshoot the air flow issue because my drives are stacked on top of each other and here are the temps:
Top: 36C