Help with design plans for rack mounting my stuff

Status
Not open for further replies.

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
I'm in need of some advice/suggestions regarding the purchase of a single 42U rack.
I have no experience with rack mount installation, but as you can see by looking
at my current setup (yuck!), my metal shelf configuration is laughable!
rack1.jpg
The proposed rack does not have to have sides or doors, I'm just not concerned about looks.
After a little searching in the forum, I'm noticing the depth issue seems to be a point
that is brought up frequently.
My future plans are for:
2 - Supermicro CSE 743-T chassis which will house my primary and backup FreeNAS boxes,
they are 25-1/2" deep and take up 8U (34U of space left over)

2 - Dell N2024 switches (have currently) with space for 1U expansion (31U of space left over)

1 - pfSense 1U server, router/firewall (30U of space left over)

1 - shelf on rails for Printer, est. 6U of space used (24U of space left over)

1 - shelf on rails for small monitor and keyboard, est. 8U of space used (16U of space left over)

In the remaining space, I would like stationary shelf/shelves for wireless AP and UPS,

I also have no clue about slide out rails and shelves, my main question regarding this is
fitting rails to frame and obviously chassis. Are there standards? If I buy a used HP/Compaq rack,
would that only fit slide out rails of that brand, or would any rail do the job?

Any opinions, pointers and suggestions would be most welcome!
Dave

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Purchased this one. It has never been used :D

Picked it up about 90min ago, it's exactly what I wanted and the price was low :)

maglin

Patron
Oh and you can get a 1U monitor and keyboard that is on rails. You will almost never need to use it though.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
Oh and you can get a 1U monitor and keyboard that is on rails. You will almost never need to use it though