Help me to get into TrueNAS

Xizz3l

Cadet
Hi, all. I am completely new to this topic, so I hope you can help me out.

Where I am coming from:​

I have gathered data over the last 15 years. Personal photos and videos, documents, dvd and blue ray rips, all kind of stuff.
My data is and more than some still is stored on external pc hard rives ranging from 250GB - 4TB drives. I use a total of around 33TB atm.
Two years ago I bought some drives and put them in an old pc of mine and gave unraid a shot. It works ok to this day, but I think that I want to give TrueNAS a fair trail first before going all in with unraid.
I have average understanding of pc hardware and I am not scared of using the terminal.

What are my goals?​

My goal is to build a single system (home server) that for the first time is the place for all my data.
It should be kind of energy efficient.
I want to run TrueNAS Scale, since it is based on linux.
It's dual purpose is to be my homelab, running all my docker containers and 3 vms.
I aim for around 60TB of usable Storage, so that it will hold some time.

What am I looking for?​

I don't think that it's fair to assume that all that information that I need come from commands in this thread. Although some tips for the right hdds would be great, since I am completely lost since there are so many models.
So can you recommend me some courses (in English or German), so that I can teach myself what I need to know? It's ok when they cost a fair amount of money, good learning materials that are well structured don't come for free.
Or some good and detailed written guide?
I wan't to learn the needed knowledge of what TrueNAS is and what it does. How I configure it right for my goals.
What drives I should by and what combination would be the best and how I combine that all in one case.

danb35

Hall of Famer
What drives I should by