Hello

Status
Not open for further replies.

grimofdoom

Cadet
Greetings. I am very new to FreeNAS and have yet to actually install it. I have an old laptop and an external hdd/adapter I am going to begin my adventures into home server stuff. I would like to build it up very much into the future, but I am at a start. I installed Ubuntu Server to begin with- and I totally flopped on that due to it's more complex nature (command line based, requires a lot of knowledge I do not have) and will be installing FreeNAS tomorrow.

I am experienced(self taught, been a long while) in Python, C, C++, HTML/CSS, Basic(Arduino). I have done a bit of 3D modeling/animation, but my mac air laptop w/ Win10(not the server to be) does not have the power for me to continue.

One big thing I want to do the home server for is for streaming music/movies(A lot of DVD's I want to digitize for personal use) and backup on the "cloud" of any/all devices I can(A few laptops are in constant use in my house). I have yet to figure out anything really before hand (like how to stream music/movies. and if I can stream it with the new TVoS Apps on the Apple TV 4), but I will get there when the bridge hits me face first.

gpsguy

Welcome to the forums!

I don't know where you learned about FreeNAS, but we don't recommend installing it on a laptop, much less an "old laptop". Please read the hardware recommendations in the manual - http://doc.freenas.org/9.3/freenas_intro.html#hardware-recommendations or in one of the stickies on the forum - https://forums.freenas.org/index.php?threads/hardware-recommendations-read-this-first.23069/

At a minimum, you'll need 8GB of RAM (preferably ECC). Most "old laptops", don't meet that requirement. FreeNAS may not recognize/support the NIC and/or other components.