Hardware: SATA Controller Selection, or Motherboard

Status
Not open for further replies.

9C1 Newbee

Patron
I have been running freenas for a total of 5 months for my home media server. I LOVE the rock solid reliability 8.3 has offered with various plugins. I have done a lot of reading. I have read probably 100+ threads and I still have some noob questions. I ordered an Intel/LSI SASUC8I (recommended here http://forums.freenas.org/showthread.php?1568-FAQ-What-hardware-should-I-Buy-Get-Use-or-is-recommended&p=6757&viewfull=1#post6757 thinking I could flash the IT and be good to go. What I just read was this card does NOT support >2TB drives. most of these threads offer hardware ideas that are outdated or no longer available.This is my current hardware:

Dell Power Edge 105T
Dual-Core AMD Opteron(tm) Processor 1216
8 Gigs Memory (maxed out)
Three 3TB WD Green Drives (Yeah I know, lack of research. However it has ran flawlessly thus far <knock knock knock>)
ZFS Raidz1

My concerns are:
1) I need more SATA ports. I am outgrowing my 6TB storage capacity. My plans are to purchase 3 additional 3TB WD sata (red, not green this time) and run the 6 in raidz2.

2) From what I have read, my limitation of 8Gigs of memory is becoming a factor. From what I have read, I should be able to reliably squeeze by but take a performance hit.

So, should I just build a new i3 machine that can accept 32 gigs of memory and has ample SATA's? Or, is there a controller out there with my name on it? Please chime in with any other issue I should be concerned with.

jgreco

Resident Grinch
IBM ServeRAID M1015 crossflashed to IT mode. Cheap on eBay. 8 ports of ZFS awesomeness.

ProtoSD

MVP

9C1 Newbee

Patron
IBM ServeRAID M1015 crossflashed to IT mode. Cheap on eBay. 8 ports of ZFS awesomeness.

Funny, after I contacted the guy who sold me the SASUC8I and told him I couldn't use it, he recommended the M1015. Can you point me toward a good crossflash tutorial?