Hardware RAID 1 vs FreeeNAS mirror for OS

Dotty

Contributor
Which option is best and why?
1- Installing FreeNAS OS on a RAID 1 volume (created from two SSDs using the onboard hardware RAID controller)
2- Installing FreeNAS OS on an individual SSD and later mirror it using the FreeNAS GUI

Just to be clear, Im talking about the OS install, not the data, all my data drives are wired to a JBOD HBA and I will let FreeNAS ZFS handle redundancy there.
Thanks

DoThat

Cadet
Hey,

Im fairly new to FreeNAS but i think i have read that raid via raidcontrollers may cause trouble because they create a shadow partition which is only be able to delete via shell i think. but i dont have experiences about this myth.

regards

mer

Cadet
ZFS mirror the SSD instead of hw raid controller.
Typically if your HW RAID controller fails, you are completely dead.
ZFS mirror works very nicely.

just my opinion

2nd-in-charge

Explorer
1- Installing FreeNAS OS on a RAID 1 volume (created from two SSDs using the onboard hardware RAID controller)
2- Installing FreeNAS OS on an individual SSD and later mirror it using the FreeNAS GUI
Out of these options #2, because FreeNAS boot is ZFS and it will be able to do smart on the drives.
No need to mirror later, I'm pretty sure you can install on boot mirror.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
onboard hardware RAID controller)
2- Installing FreeNAS OS on an individual SSD and late
Are you sure about that? On-board sounds like Intel FakeRAID, which is little more than a driver and wouldn't work here.

Dotty

Contributor
Out of these options #2, because FreeNAS boot is ZFS and it will be able to do smart on the drives.
No need to mirror later, I'm pretty sure you can install on boot mirror.
The SMART is a good point. But Im not quite sure how the mirroring on FreeNAS works on failure.