Hard drives with different cache sizes?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have a FreeNAS box I've been using for a few years now that has 3 of the drives linked below in RAIDZ1:
(HGST DeckStar NAS 3.5" 4TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache Drive)
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA2W04177421

I went to buy another one of these drives so I could rebuild my pool as RAIDZ2, however Newegg's third-party seller shipped me this one instead:
(HGST DeckStar NAS 3.5" 4TB 7200 RPM 128MB Cache Drive)
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822146116

The only conceivable difference I can see between the two is that the ones I own have a 64 MB cache while the one I received has a 128 MB cache. I've searched around the forums/online and found plenty of posts about different brands/sizes of hard drives, but no mention of whether having the same brand/size hard drives with different cache sizes will work/cause issues. Anyone have any knowledge/experience with mixing cache sizes in a ZFS pool? Thank you!

Don't worry. It'll be fine.

Cheers,
Matt

DrKK

FreeNAS Generalissimo
Probably the worst that will happen is your 128MB cache drive will behave as if it's a 64MB cache drive, for all intents and purposes. i.e., no adverse effect. Proceed sir.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I have a FreeNAS box I've been using for a few years now that has 3 of the drives linked below in RAIDZ1:
(HGST DeckStar NAS 3.5" 4TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache Drive)
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA2W04177421

I went to buy another one of these drives so I could rebuild my pool as RAIDZ2, however Newegg's third-party seller shipped me this one instead:
(HGST DeckStar NAS 3.5" 4TB 7200 RPM 128MB Cache Drive)
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822146116