Hangs after running the "pkg upgrade" command

akumanova68

Dabbler
Dear All,

I am new to freenas 11.2. I install the freenas under VMWare platform with all default options. Once the freenas successfully boot, I login as root and run the "pkg update" and "pkg upgrade -y" in order to update the system. (My target is to install openvpn and tomcat).

Unfortunately, freenas is unable to startup after a reboot and hangs in a process:

"Trying to mount root from zfs:freenas-boot/ROOT/default []...
middlewared: loaded plugin boot

If I wait for a long enough time, it continues but the system fails (unable to login through web interface)

May I know anybody can advise how to resolve this? Thanks.

Chris Moore

Hall of Famer
I am new to freenas 11.2. I install the freenas under VMWare platform with all default options. Once the freenas successfully boot, I login as root and run the "pkg update" and "pkg upgrade -y" in order to update the system. (My target is to install openvpn and tomcat).
FreeNAS, although it is based on FreeBSD, is a software appliance that is not intended to be modified in that way. You would need to install any additional packages inside jails, not directly into the FreeNAS system.

akumanova68

Dabbler
Dear Chris,

I am still in a learning path and thanks for your reply in advance. Since my first target is to install tomcat, and I try to use the command "pkg install openjdk8", and then "pkg install tomcat9".

These two commands are work only once, but after reboot, it seems that the JDK no more working.

From your last response, should I also install "openjdk" and "tomcat" inside "jail"? I find that some installations using the "pkg" command seems not working, or the config files are reset / removed.

If the "openjdk" or "tomcat" has to be installed under "jail", can you refer some document so that I can follow? Thank you very much.

sretalla

Powered by Neutrality
From your last response, should I also install "openjdk" and "tomcat" inside "jail"?