Greetings from Texas

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bigtexun

Dabbler
Howdy ya'll!

I'm an engineer from Texas. Communications, Internet technologies, and *nix engineering are my specialties. I'm a complete noob, with regard to FreeNAS. However I started with FreeBSD, as a replacement for the commercial BSDI I used extensively. I'm not sure the year, '95 or '96 perhaps. Back then we were building terminal servers for our dialup modem banks.

My first NAS box was based on a FreeBSD beta that had experimental ZFS support... I built a large array of cheap drives for a backup system, when tapes just couldn't keep up. I've also got a Nexenta NAS serving Iscsi to a couple of VMware servers... That has been rock solid, but it is on enterprise hardware, spinning some rather expensive drives. I've been eyeing FreeNAS ever since I finished it.

So this isn't my first Rodeo.

In my day job I work with Internet technologies for a company that makes commercial products for the large service providers. So I work with a lot of the same technologies in a commercial environment, that I am here to experience with FreeNAS. In my free time, I do things like automate the bbq pit with a beaglebone and put it on the Internet, so that I can watch the temperature of my brisket while I run to the store for beer.

My FreeNAS build will be based on re-using a $1500 computer case I have owned since 2000. It is a large server case with drawers for 2 maximum-size motherboards, so it can hold nearly all form factors. It boasts support for up to 8 standard power supplies, 36 5.25" hard drives, and was incredibly heavy before I stripped it down to gut it of old parts, to make room for the new. So it has lots of nice room for things like hot-swap drive backplanes...