Greetings from Belgium

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kewlmyst

Cadet
In march 2012, I installed my first FreeNAS, configured the device for our needs, and it's still there, still running, faithfully doing it's job after 3 years, can't even remember the last time I logged in, it just plain works.

I had worked with other systems before, and I have installed other systems since then, some with fancy features, some with extremely basic setups, and after all that , I'm back to installing again FreeNAS.

I'm a system administrator, I mainly focus on the development and maintenance of our infrastructure. I have decided to configure a storage infrastructure based on FreeNAS for some of our data, a system with a primary NAS serving a limited number of Linux servers (not more than 50) with a few NFS exports, replicating the data to a second data center on the other side of our site. I would start with part of the data
on the primary (roughly 250TB); then if this works well, maybe install a second NAS for the rest of the data...
Why not use a commercial product, with 24/7 4h support? Because support is rarely efficient or useful for software/config issues; of course, the hardware has maintenance contracts.

I also enjoy working on the network and the firewalls, I speak fluent cisco and juniper, and am able to click on a Palo Alto firewall GUI. Another of my interests is managing the vmware ESX infrastructure, I can spend endless hours looking at vcops graphics. On the other hand, I seriously lack practice working on our HPC environment, and, I'm definitely not a web person, still stuck at HTML 1.0

Other than that, well, I was born a couple years before they sent a man on the Moon. When I log in to the real world: I live in Brussels, right in the middle of Belgium. I have a wonderful wife, and three kids (none of them interested in a career in computing, fortunately)

Anything else? just ask!

FritVetBE

Explorer
Hey Kewlmyst