Getting corrupted data error in boot drive

Status
Not open for further replies.

zrost

Cadet
Hi all, I'm somewhat new to FreeNAS, I bought a couple FreeNAS Mini devices from IXSystems. One of them is just being used as a backup device and a couple days ago started giving me the error "The boot volume state is ONLINE: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data corruption. Applications may be affected."

When I run zpool status -xv I get:

pool: freenas-boot
state: ONLINE
status: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data
corruption. Applications may be affected.
action: Restore the file in question if possible. Otherwise restore the
entire pool from backup.
see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-8A
scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0h1m with 3 errors on Tue May 12 12:15:45 2015
config:

NAME STATE READ WRITE CKSUM
freenas-boot ONLINE 0 0 3
ada2p2 ONLINE 0 0 6

errors: Permanent errors have been detected in the following files:

freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201505100553@2015-04-14-10:49:32:/usr/local/www/dojo/dojox/gauges/GlossyHorizontalGauge.js.uncompressed.js
freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201505100553@2015-04-14-10:49:32:/usr/local/www/dojo/dojox/gauges/GlossySemiCircularGauge.js.uncompressed.js
freenas-boot/ROOT/FreeNAS-9.3-STABLE-201505100553@2015-04-14-10:49:32:/usr/local/www/dojo/dojox/geo/charting/resources/data/ContinentalEurope.json

Should I just delete these files and is it safe to do so? What other options do I have?

Appreciate any help.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Save your config, reinstall on a new boot device, import your config ;)

Bidule0hm

I suspect this boot drive has a problem as you have corrupted data. You can try with the same drive but I don't recommend that. You can always test the drive on another machine to see if it's ok or not ;)

Also I'm surprised that on a server sold by iXsystems the boot drive isn't mirrored, it's really a shame...

zrost

Cadet