SOLVED FreeNAS volume layout advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

Fred974

Contributor
Hi all,

I have been using FreeNAS for over 3 years and I though I was a goodish user and knew my way around it untill I started reading @cyberjock document on explaining VDev, zpool, ZIL and L2ARC
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0BzHapVfrocfwblFvMVdvQ2ZqTGM/view

I do encourage people to go and read it as it is I a really well written master piece :)

This also left me with a lot of question around how to design my new FreeNSD server..

I have a Dell PowerEdge C2100 with 48GB ECC + 24x 146GB SAS HDD. I know that they are old and small and I am planning to replace them for bigger one in time one at a time as per the doc advises.

The aim of that new FreeNAS box will be to provide storage to our new XCP-NG cluster via iSCSI target on FreeNAS. For security and reliability, we want to use raidz3.
I have been reading the calomel article on ZFS Raidz Performance, Capacity and Integrity and they have provided the following benchmarking results for raidz3
Code:
11x 4TB, raidz3 (raid7),	   30.2 TB,  w=552MB/s , rw=103MB/s , r=963MB/s
12x 4TB, raidz3 (raid7),	   33.6 TB,  w=452MB/s , rw=105MB/s , r=840MB/s
23x 4TB, raidz3 (raid7),	   74.9 TB,  w=440MB/s , rw=157MB/s , r=1146MB/s
24x 4TB, raidz2 (raid6),	   82.0 TB,  w=434MB/s , rw=189MB/s , r=1063MB/s
24x 4TB, raidz3 (raid7),	   78.1 TB,  w=405MB/s , rw=180MB/s , r=1117MB/s

@cyberjock doc said that
RAIDZ3 should have the total number of drives equal to 2n + 3. (ie 5, 7, 11, etc drives for the VDev)
and that
It is not recommended that VDevs contain more than 11 disks under any circumstances.

So I am guessing that creating a signle zpool of 24 HHD is not recommended..

Which configuration should I be using to have a balance between performence an reliability?
Should I be creating 2x zpool of 2 vdev with 11 disk per vdev on raidz3?

Also does FreeNAS has the notion of 'spare drive' for auto replacement?