Freenas usb failed. how to get my data?

Koohwen

Cadet
I'm not sure where to post this.
I set up a freenas system for my dlna years ago and understood what I was doing then, but now I have no idea. Now I am a newbie again.
I used a NAS hard drive in an ancient intel computer (with no cd drive) and freenas on a usb drive. The usb failed. I have been trying all week to do a fresh install on a new usb drive, but the system is really old now and doesn't meet minimum RAM standards. It keeps getting stuck/hanging when trying to install and now I have corrupted all the usb drives in the house (Freenas installs have made them useless with less than 512kb available)
I have lost all knowledge of how to perform computer basics and I just want to access my files on the drive.
I have a newer computer that was gifted to me and I was planning on switching everything over before the usb failure happened. I wasn't going to use freenas when I switched computers as it is now over my head. (The new computer has windows 8 installed so I was just going to use that.) If I swap out the NAS now will I lose my data? Do I need to access it with Freenas? Or is there a way around that?
Could someone kindly point me in the right direction?

Inxsible

Guru
I set up a freenas system for my dlna years ago and understood what I was doing then, but now I have no idea.
Do you know if you used UFS or ZFS? What version of FreeNAS were you on ? Did you have a backup of the FreeNAS configuration?

Koohwen

Cadet
The last version I remember was 8.something. I don't know if I backed up the configuration. If I did, I don't remember where I put it. I think maybe I used ZFS.

Inxsible

Guru
The last version I remember was 8.something. I don't know if I backed up the configuration. If I did, I don't remember where I put it. I think maybe I used ZFS.