FreeNAS Storage Access Over the Internet

Status
Not open for further replies.

ujval

Cadet
Hi All

I am new to freeNAS and i have successfully installed the server and am able to share files on my home network. The only thing is i would like to be able to access files and store files on my freeNAS from anywhere and any network.

I have followed youtube guides and also looked at the follwing http://www.makeuseof.com/tag/set-freenas-server-access-files but i am still unable to configure this.

I have set up hosts on http://www.no-ip.com and http://www.dnsdynamic.org.

Can someone please go through the process of sharing freenas over the internet step by step, any help will be highly appreciated

Thank you
Regards

ujval

Cadet

Thanks for the Reply:)

Had a go at this...but this is simply just accessing files on my home network, i still cannot access files if i connect to a different network.

maybe you mis-understood me, what i want to do is set up a cloud server. I want to upload files onto my FreeNAS and access them wherever i go (or even on a tablet) without installing or running any extra application. And i want to be able to upload files from anywhere onto FreeNAS.

Having read some other posts, i saw many places where people have mentioned sftp and ftp via hosts such as no-ip.com. do you have any ideas how these could be set up?

Any Help would be GREAT:D

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
dns providers like no-ip.com are merely pointing a domain name to your IP address. doesnt change a thing. you can configure your FTP service or SSH service in FREENAS, and forward the ports in your router to your FREENAS box...on the other end you would use your no-ip.com address instead of having to remember your IP address.