FreeNAS on ThinkServer ts430

Status
Not open for further replies.

davide445

Cadet
An old ts430 is lying unused in the office, I want to upgrade it and setup as NAS for a small 4-5 person group. I have no experience on NAS or hw configuration except some disk change. My only experience with NAS is my home Synology DS213.

Currently with 2x300GB hdd my idea is to purchase 2x2TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD to be used for fault rolerance and 1x120GB WD Green SSD to be used for the OS. The server does currently have Windows Server 2008 R2 installed.

Will this configuration work or I will have compatibility problems with Lenovo hw.

Inxsible

Guru
Currently with 2x300GB hdd my idea is to purchase 2x2TB Seagate Ironwolf HDD to be used for fault rolerance
So you are only going to have 2 drives in the NAS? If so, you can create 1 mirror using the 300GB drives. But if a drive fails, you won't realize the extra space from 2TB unless you change both drives.

davide445

Cadet
So you are only going to have 2 drives in the NAS? If so, you can create 1 mirror using the 300GB drives. But if a drive fails, you won't realize the extra space from 2TB unless you change both drives.
Yes but I want to remove the 300gb drives that are 7 years old and use only the new one.
But will FreeNAS work on this hw, I didn't find it in the list of official supported OS
https://lenovopress.com/osig#servers=ts430&support=all

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk

Inxsible

Guru
Yes but I want to remove the 300gb drives that are 7 years old and use only the new one.
But will FreeNAS work on this hw, I didn't find it in the list of official supported OS
https://lenovopress.com/osig#servers=ts430&support=all

Sent from my BLA-L29 using Tapatalk