FreeNAS GUI frozen after login

Status
Not open for further replies.

Juvx

Explorer
Hi all. I'm new to freeNAS and just built my system yesterday.

Define R5 case
550W 80 bronze Modular power supply
Intel Xeon E3-1246 V3 with stock cooler
16GB Corsair Vengence Pro (non ECC) (had 32GB but half doesn't work)
ASUS RoG Maximus VII Hero
2 x 1TB WD Black (that were part of an old RAID 1)
16GB Sandisk thumb drives.

Also have 5 x 4TB of WD Reds ready to be installed once I get it up and running.

Ran into so many issues that my head almost exploded. First my MB wouldn't boot with all my memory installed so i have to stick to 16GB instead of 32GB. I think 2 DIMMS are dead) Then ran into the USB 3.0 issue and freeNAS not liking it, then ran into a problem with the 2 HDDs i wanted to use being part of an old raid and FreeNAS not wanting to wipe them... I managed to overcome them. However, i'm stuck now and not sure what to do next.

FreeNAS was working. I added a user in the GUI and tried to create an array and wipe the 2x 1TB WD blacks. The GUI was working fine. But after a reboot, now It seems to be frozen after i login to it. It simply doesn't display anything but the FreeNAS logo up top and a few icons in the middle that dont work (like half of account icon). I've tried multiple reboots, Router reboots, different PCs and Macs, different browsers... to access the GUI and its the same result... it lets me log in to it but all I see is the logo and two icons in the middle. Not sure what to do next? Should i reinstall FreeNAS on a new thumb drive? Keep in mind there is no Data on it at all as its just brand new. Is there anything else I can do?

Also, Should i buy a new MB so I can use all 32GB (I know this is unrelated but should I?)

Attachments

• Capture.JPG
    Capture.JPG
    40.6 KB · Views: 242

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast
You're trying to run FreeNAS with a desktop/gaming motherboard (ASUS RoG Maximus VII Hero). This is not