FreeNas going dead at random times and days.

JustMichael

Dabbler
I'm new to using FreeNas and BSD. Though I have been using FreeNas for about 6 months, I haven't done anything but what was needed to get things working. So far I am getting random events of my machine just going completely dead.

I went 4 months without a single issue, then all of a sudden it started dying on me, the machine itself would keep running, but there was no terminal, all my network drives where no longer accessible, the FreeNas UI was unreachable. My VM running my docker instance and all my services where unreachable.

This started happening more frequently, The Harddrives where brand new 8TB drives when I put them in, while I am slowly every 2 months starting to add more drives. Though I only have 2x 8TB right now, and 3 External Harddrives (I already had these from my previous setup before FreeNas) so I am currently moving all the files from those 3 external drives over to the internal ones. (Needs more drives to get the rest off, since one of the externals drives is 10TB).

This machine was an old machine I used to use as a desktop, so the specs are not too great.

CPU: AMD FX-6300
GPU: None/Integrated
RAM: 32GB DDR3
PSU: 650W Corsair
OS: FreeNas (On SSD, I had a spare one I wasn't using and didn't mind using it for now. Will copy to USB at some point)
HDD:
1x 500gb (projects and odd bits) (internal)
1x 3TB (backups of old stuff and VM data) (internal)
1x 2TB (backups of games and videos) (external) (self powered)
5TB (ripped bluerays, and music) (external) (self powered)
8TB (ripped bluerays) (external) (self powered)
8TB (ripped bluerays) (internal)