FreeNAS as Xen DomU

Status
Not open for further replies.

esromneb

Cadet
I am new to FreeBSD but I am a Linux expert. I am trying to get FreeNAS to run under Xen as DomU in PV mode. Specifically I would like to run under XenServer. Earlier today I accomplished this task using FreeBSD 9.1, I even wrote a guide with a torrent to the final product: https://github.com/esromneb/BMXenServer/wiki/PV-FreeBSD-DomU-Kernel If I can figure out FreeNAS under Xen I will write up a guide just like it.

I have a few questions that I can't figure out regarding the FreeNAS boot process.

1) is using a newer kernel (9.1) a problem for freenas 8?
2) I have configured a FreeNAS install with the following options:
xe vm-param-set uuid=$VMU PV-args='boot_verbose=1,vfs.root.mountfrom=ufs:/dev/xbd0s1a,vfs.root.mountfrom.options=rw,kern.hz=100 console=tty0 xencons=tty'
I'm positive that '/dev/xbd0s1a' is the location of root: I verified this by booting my working FreeBSD machine, and attaching my FreeNAS boot disk. The xbd block names match.

When I start the VM I get this kernel panic:

GEOM: new disk xbd0
Timecounter "TSC" frequency 3000122000 Hz quality 800
WARNING: WITNESS option enabled, expect reduced performance.
GEOM: xbd0s1: geometry does not match label (16h,63s != 255h,63s).
Trying to mount root from ufs:/dev/xbd0s1a [ro]...
rtc0: [XEN] xen_rtc_gettime
rtc0: [XEN] xen_rtc_gettime: wallclock 1360061375 sec; 434968138 nsec
rtc0: [XEN] xen_rtc_gettime: uptime 1204933 sec; 56183913 nsec
rtc0: [XEN] xen_rtc_gettime: TOD 1361266308 sec; 491152051 nsec
start_init: trying /sbin/init
exec /sbin/init: error 8
start_init: trying /sbin/oinit
start_init: trying /sbin/init.bak
start_init: trying /rescue/init
exec /rescue/init: error 8
start_init: trying /stand/sysinstall
init: not found in path /sbin/init:/sbin/oinit:/sbin/init.bak:/rescue/init:/stand/sysinstall
panic: no init
cpuid = 0
KDB: enter: panic
[ thread pid 1 tid 100002 ]
Stopped at kdb_enter+0x3a: movl $0,kdb_why
db>