Fresh 9.3 install 'Panic: no init'

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,

After stumbling across FreeNas and its benefits on youtube I decided I wanted a bit of that and have subsequently put a build together. I have no previous experience with FreeNas and wouldn't class myself as overly technical (I tend to get by reading forums and watching youtube tutorials). But currently I'm stumped and not sure what I should even be looking for as a fix.

Having successfully installing FreeNas 9.3 onto a 8GB usb flashdrive (I think) following the website's guidance I was prompted to remove the installation media and reboot the system. Whilst FreeNAS was booting up it stops after a while with the following text on screen:

SMP: AP CPU #3 Launched!
Timecounter "TSC-low" frequency 1696104326 Hz quality 1000
Trying to mount root from zfs: freenas-boot/ROOT/default []...
Init: not found in path /sbin/init:/sbin/oinit:/sbin/init,bak:/rescue/init:/stand/sysinstall
Panic: no init
cpuid = 0
KDB: stack backtrace:
kdb_trace_self_wrapper() at db_trace_self_wrapper+0x2a/frame 0xffffff8000258850
kdb_backtrace() at kdb_backtrace+0x37/frame 0xffffff8000258910
panic() at panic+0x1ce/frame 0xffffff8000258a10
start_init() at start_init+0x27a/frame 0xffffff8000258aa0
Fork_exit() at fork_exit+0x11f/frame oxffffff8000258af0
Fork_trampoline() at fork_trampoline+0xe/frame 0xffffff8000258af0
---trap 0, rip = 0, rsp = 0xffffff8000258bb0, rbp = 0 ---
KDB: enter: panic
[ thread pid 1 tid 100002 ]
Stopped at kdb_enter+0x3b: movq $0,0xd03fb2(%rip)
kdb>

If anyone can offer a fix or point me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

I have tried re-downloading FeeNAS 9.3 and starting again - same result. I have also used multiple USB drives and even one of my hard drives, again same result.

Thank you in advance.

Hardware:
Gigaabyte H81N itx motherboard
i3 intel processor
3 x WD red 3TB drives
8GB DDR3 RAM

BigDave

FreeNAS Enthusiast