FreeNAS 9.3 crashing, weird stuff happening (with video)

Status
Not open for further replies.

CrunchyMetal

Cadet
Hey guys,

First off I apologize as I tried searching around and tried what I could but I'm stumped. I am also not sure where I can find any logs or anything to help me narrow down exactly what's happening at the time of failure.

The video is here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78ueJXbR0EM

So nothing has really changed lately that I can think that would cause this, but the problem seems to be getting progressively worse. The system seems to be crashing, then rebooting itself and hanging on the boot. It will freeze somewhere on the GRUB loading portion (forgive me as I am a linux/freebsd noob, not sure entirely what this is). It has also frozen right in its tracks, and pressing the power button won't get it to shut down, I have to hard reset it, though its typically the first scenario where it reboots itself.

It started happening maybe a month ago, once randomly and I thought nothing of it. Just rebooted the system and it was fine. Then it started happening every Sunday around the same time. I started thinking it was related to the long SMART tests I had scheduled for every Sunday (though not at that time, they were scheduled for 2AM, kept freezing around 7-8 pm). I have since deleted all these scheduled tests and same thing.

Now it happens very frequently, especially if I try to do anything with FreeNAS. Anything more than one or two changes in the webGUI and it will crash, reboot itself and hang on the boot. Its also becoming more difficult to get it to come back up after it reboots itself. It takes several hard resets to get it past the GRUB. Recently I tried watching the console as it crashed and saw some really strange stuff flashing on the screen, and was able to record a few seconds of it.

You can see it crashing then rebooting and freezing on the GRUB.