Freenas 8.3 Release not responding after hdd pull

Status
Not open for further replies.

gizimoto

Cadet
Hi All

I am new to FreeNAS and ZFS in general, but I have reasonable level of IT knowledge.

System: 10x3TB RAIDZ2, XEON E3 12?? V2 CPU, 16GB ECC, SuperMicro X9SCM-F 2.0 bios board, 2x DELL SAS (LSI 2008) running DELL IT firware. Freenas runs in a ESXI VM.

I worked through all the issues with the cards firmware, etc and had everything up and running, got the updated from beta to release sorted also. Been working fine for a week or so.

Today I pulled the SATA & power from one of the drives - to test how to recover from a drive failure - bad idea (or possibly better to learn now than when system critical). I am not a risk of losing any data as the content is 'dummy' data.

Now the web user interface does not respond - firefox must get something back as it never times out just 'connecting'.

The console also does not respond the last message was "(da10:mps1:0:10:0): lost device - 0 outstanding, 1 refs", I get nothing back other than my key inputs echo'ed.

vSphere shows the CPU pegged at 100%.

SSH says host not responding (but never accesss system via this method before either).

Help - what is the method of recovery now?

Cheers,
Mark

cyberjock

Inactive Account
Boy am I glad you wrote "not a risk of losing any data asthe content is dummy data". The manual states clearly never to remove a drive while the system is on without informing the OS of your intent first.

Before I deployed my first server I pulled a drive just as you did with dummy data. Scrub found no problems after reinserting the drive. I didn't have any problems with the system becoming unresponsive. In fact, the only way I knew the drive had been removed was a 'zpool status'. It would lost more and more errors with the removed drive with each access of the zpool.