Freenas - 2Wire Gateway Setup

Status
Not open for further replies.

jwallace1984

Dabbler
I've been using my Freenas setup for a few months now without a hitch. A couple of weeks ago, however, I moved to a new house. We didn't have internet installed yet, so I kept the nas hooked up to my old modem so I could still access movies/tv shows from my htpc. Today I had AT&T Uverse installed. Problem.

I am unable to access my NAS from my pc. It is set up to have a static ip address. When I put the ip address into a browser, the gui will not appear (connection problem). I can't access the files in file explorer.

After Googling for a few hours, I've seen varying problems with the uverse 2wire gateway.

Can anyone out there help me? I still have my old Actiontec Modem, if that helps in any way.

Current Hookup:

Network - 2Wire Gateway - NAS (wired)
- PC (wireless)

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
Put monitor and keyboard on nas.
Configure new IP address to fit within your new LAN subnet.

Done.

#stayparanoid

c32767a

Patron
Network - 2Wire Gateway - NAS (wired)
- PC (wireless)

This is your problem.

All the Uverse installs I've seen have a separate NAT environment for the wired network and the wireless network, effectively isolating them.

You will have to solve this problem on the Uverse modem. Or turn off Uverse wireless and buy your own wireless access point and run everything off the wired port. You could use your existing actiontec for this, if it has a wireless interface.

The way I would choose to solve the problem is by getting a different internet provider. I realize that's sometimes not possible, but don't feed the troll (Uverse) if you don't have to.

pirateghost

Unintelligible Geek
This is your problem.

All the Uverse installs I've seen have a separate NAT environment for the wired network and the wireless network, effectively isolating them.