Freenas 11.2-RC1 and file copying from Mac

Status
Not open for further replies.

rufus-hound

Cadet
Hello all.
I'm new to Freenas, and have built 2 systems (one as a network file system and the other to help debug problems such as the one I'm reporting today). Both machines and my mac mini are connected over ethernet.

I have successfully backed up my Mac using Timemachine with Freenas configured with an AFP share.

I am now trying to copy around 2TB (200,000 files) from a USB disk connected to my Mac, to the freeNAS machines. On both machines (tested at different times), I get the same issue. I created an SMB share, and created a user will full disk read/write access to the share folder. At first I used finder to copy the files, and found that it would fail mid-copy - not having managed to copy more that a few hundred files.

I changed to FreeFileSync so that I could re-start a copy if it failed. The copy still fails, with the following error:

Code:
Cannot write file "/Volumes/RaidPool/backup/1. allPictures/2010.8.6 - SANY0016.b0ad.ffs_tmp".

Error Code 5: Input/output error [write]

What I have found is that if I navigate to the share folder and view the contents of the folder, I can then click retry on the file copy and the copy resumes. It's as if the connection to the network share is timing out, although it's in constant use by FreeFileSync.

Can anyone advise what might be wrong?

Thanks

rufus-hound

Cadet
Hi @garm. I'd like to be able to copy the 2TB of data to my server without constantly having to press retry. I am assuming there's something wrong with my setup/configuration, so would like to get this fixed.

garm

Wizard
okey, I feel like being vicious but I don’t have the energy..

When you are new to a system it might be hard to know what information someone might need to help you troubleshoot an issue. This is a common problem in all support scenarios. It’s even got a Wikipedia page.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/XY_problem