Free server given to me, what low hanging fruit would you upgrade (will it FreeNAS)

AndrewParsons

Dabbler
Hello Team,

So I am very fortunate to be given an old server server (not totally free I did help them terminate cat6 ends for a week). I have been using my existing system for almost 5 years now and have learned a pile (thanks to this community). If you would not mind I would like to borrow your expertise once again. Could you please take a look at the list below and recommend any changes that you would make.

System as it sits
-4U Supermicro 24 bay case with SAS3 Expander
- Supermicro x9Dri-F motherboard
- 2x Intel Xeon E5-2697 V2
- 128GB DDR3 (16 x 8GB - DDR3 - REG PC3-10600R)
- AOC-S3008L-L8e HBA 12Gb/s SAS controller (I will flash it to IT mode if it is not already)
- Dual Power supply (Do not know much more than that)
- 14x REF ST8000NM0065 SEAGATE 3.5" 8TB SAS-3 12GBs 7k RPM EXOS 7e8 4kn Drive 256MB Cache

Adding to system
- Chelsio 110-1146-40 T420-CR T420 CR 10GbE 2-Port
- Adata SU655 120 GB SSD (boot drive)
- Was thinking of adding some SSD for jail pool? perhaps raidz1?

Of course since the system is used and I have not idea what kind of a life it has seen I will be running cpu stress test, mem test, short/long smartest (all drives) and bad block test (all drivers).

Looking at the above, would you change anything? Add or remove anything? Since this is mostly free I am okay with putting some money towards it.

I am only looking to run a Plex server for the most part. Multiple streams and transcodes. With that in mind how would you guys handle the main pool? I was thinking 2 vdevs each with raidz2?

Please let me know if you need anymore information for you to make any suggestions.

Thank you so much for your time and help.

Andrew

Nice. It might be a little loud compared to a desktop-based system. You'll need to do a long SMART check on the hard drives to be safe.

AndrewParsons

Dabbler