FN 11.2-B3 iocage jail size and backups

Status
Not open for further replies.

feleven

Dabbler
FreeNAS 11.2-Beta3, Plex installed as standard jail (iocage dataset separate from FreeNAS dataset on primary pool), primary pool created from RZ2 4 x 4TB WD Red drives, backup pool created from striped 2 x 6TB WD Red drives.

Yes, I know my backup pool is at risk of a failure, but its one of several media backups, so if it goes south on me, its a PITA but I won't lose anything but some more hair and a few hours of resilvering.

Anyway - I've been running Plex as a plugin jail for several years, starting around FN 9.x, without many issues. I was always able to backup the primary pool / dataset, including the plugin jail, to the backup pool using a cron task to run rsync. Because the plugins were inside the primary dataset, the backup command was just one line (FN-RZ2 primary, FN-BK backup):

<rsync -avz /mnt/FN-RZ2/ /mnt/FN-BK>

Now that I've moved to iocage jails, doing the above backup command doesn't capture the iocage Plex jail dataset. So I created a similar but separate rsync command for the iocage dataset and let it run to create the initial backup. It took forever (not sure why, drives are all connected by SATA3 interfaces), but when done it appeared to be a pretty small set of files, which makes sense.

Since the iocage jail isn't much more than a stripped down FN virtual machine with a bunch of pointers into the primary pool Media folder, I'm wondering if I really have to worry much about backing it up? If I had to restore the primary pool, I'd get all my media back, which is the most important thing. Then I could just re-create the iocage jail from scratch, as it didn't seem to take that long. Am I missing something important about the iocage dataset that would make backing it up a requirement? It occurs to me I could just backup the iocage configuration file (whereever that's located) and forget the rest?