First time FreeNAS build - newbie questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

haris013

Cadet
Hello everyone!

This is my first attempt to a home project, build up a home NAS storage in order to serve my needs. I have no experience before with storages so forgive me if i ask too obvious things.

I need a storage in order to store my backups from PC (veeam backups), store my personal data(also owncloud) and store media files (plex etc).

I bought a Lenovo thinkserver ts150 intel g4400 / 8gb ecc ram (more specs https://lenovopress.com/lp0071-ts150-intel-xeon-e3-1200-v5-core-i3-pentium-celeron-g-series )

I would like to ask what kind of hard disks to buy and how many? For now I will need 4TB of total space with the ability to grow this spaces after some year(s). What kind of zfs pool/raid should i use?

• 2x 4TB wd reds with mirror setup will be fine? Can i grow the space later without data loss? Whats the procedure to do that?
  • If i have a failed disk with mirror mode, do i lost access to my data until i replace the fault disk? Whats the procedure of a failed disk replacement?
  • I heard that freenas can boot up from a usb stick. If the stick fails, i suppose that i will lose control of my server/files, this also includes damage to my files? What happens if a bootup usb stick fails? Do i buy a new one and plug it back to the server and after that everything works fine? Will the new usb with freenas recognize my disks/data setup?
  • At the case of sudden power loss, does that mean the possibility of data loss? Should i buy a UPS? Can an APC ups connect with the server and do a graceful shutdown to the system?

thanks in advance!

danb35

Hall of Famer
For now I will need 4TB of total space with the ability to grow this spaces after some year(s).