First NAS and a bunch of questions/considerations

Status
Not open for further replies.

_X_

Cadet
Hi guys,

I'm new to the FreeNAS world and I would like some advice in terms of ZFS concepts from the pro's among us. I went through the FreeNAS 4 Noobs documentation in this forum and I've been reading up on RAIDZ 'levels' and similar 'What setup is best for me?', but I've gotten clueless on what would work for me.

My setup is the following:

5 x 4Tb HDD
1 x 3Tb HDD
FreeNAS runs on a USB dongle

I would like to use this NAS for two things mainly:
*Serve up my media library across the home network
*Archive: Storing backups (A NAS isn't a backup solution I know ), documents and files I would like to keep, ...

From what I have been reading, the right RAIDZ setup would depends on the following trade-offs:
*Read/Write Performance
*Data stability (disk failure)/Storage capacity

Did I get this right?
If yes, I would want my media library to have a good read performance (it's written once, read more frequently) and storage capacity would be more important than stability.

However the 'Archive' is the exact opposite, keep the data is important over storage.

Can anyone let me know if my reasoning is sound? Am I missing something? What setup would you recommend for this?

Thanks a bunch

gpsguy

Buy another 4Tb drive and put 6 of them in RAiDz2. This is a good balance for your use case. Having RAIDz2 gives you extra protection if you have to replace a drive in the future.

Sent from my phone

_X_

Cadet
Thanks for the advice. I'll look into it. Some questions though:
*Putting them all on RAIDZ2, do you mean 1 zpool -> 1 vdev?
*Is there no alternative with the 3Tb? Might take a while to get that 4Tb

jgreco

Resident Grinch
Yeah you should be able to make a RAIDZ2 vdev out of the drives as-is, but they'll be limited to the size of the smallest component (3TB). That gives you 12TB today and 16TB when you upgrade the 3TB to 4TB.

_X_

Cadet