7 HDD ZFS setup and backup

Status
Not open for further replies.

embe

Dabbler
Hi all,

first of all sorry for my bad english:) I am very new to FreeNas, whole my life using only windows, having absolutely no experience with Linux, FreeBSD and so on. I tried WHS 2011 but having troubles within homegroup, so my media player wasn't able to see my structure of folders which i created in server, i decided to switch to Freenas. I thought it will be much easier :( But i don't give up :)
I have read as much as possible, several posts, including manual made by cyberjock, also step by step FreeNas manual to the point at where i was with actually when installing and settings freenas itself, but now i am runiing in circles and can't move on.

I came now to the point of creating Volume. I understand all RaidZ stuff, but: (and here comes my questions which i would like you to help me to answer)

- can't decide whether to setup 2x RAIDZ1 (3x2TB +4x2TB) or RAIDZ2 only 7X2TB or even RIADZ1 (purpose of NAS is below together with HW setup of my NAS)
- I tried single RaidZ2 but final available volume size turned to only 8,3TB, everywhere i was reading about it, it is mentioned it should be 10TB...I need as much as possible space for huge movie library + uncompresses CD rips. That's why i am considering RaidZ1 too...so why only 8,3TB? All discs are empty so no problem to delete volume/RaidZ2.