Backup solution sought

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dom93950

Dabbler
I am new to FreeNAS and I'm building my first NAS server. I've read the documentation and searched the forums but it is still not clear to me what would be the best backup strategy. The documentation describes Periodic Snapshots and Replication Tasks and I get that but it doesn't describe how these snapshots would be used to restore or re-create a NAS volume if it was lost. Furthermore, I've read about setting up a pair of drives with mirroring but this is claimed to not be a substitute for a backup strategy. So what is a good backup strategy?

What I would like to do is to schedule periodic cloning of the NAS to another drive in case the original NAS fails. This way, the clone is a complete backup and can be swapped in for the failed drive. Is this possible with mirroring? If not, is there another way to schedule periodic cloning of the NAS so a replacement drive can be swapped in if there is a failure of the original NAS drive?

If the best strategy is Periodic Snapshots and Replication Tasks as described in the documentation, can someone point me to how these backups would be used to re-create an NAS in the event that the original NAS drive failed?

Any other suggestions for a backup strategy would be greatly appreciated.

-Dom.

garm

Wizard
When your server eventually fail or is replaced, you install FreeNAS on the new server. Then you will have a new pool as well and you simply run your backup in reverse to restore your data. Then you reload the configuration to restore your settings. This schema works independently of the backup solution you have.

Arwen

MVP
It's best if you can tell us;
  • Your intended use of your NAS.
  • How important is the data.
  • Amount of storage you need.
  • Hardware you have / want for your NAS.
A couple of things;