External hard drive isn't working with Freenas build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chisomo Banzi

Dabbler
Hi there. Recently, I reinstalled freenas onto a 2gb SD card and for the most part, the installation was very smooth. However, when it boots up, it tries to read from my external hard drive (2TB USB) and comes up with the error in the picture.

I really need to get it to work so that i can access the volume i made before and then i can take the files from the freenas internal hard drive. If i can't get the hard drive to work, ill be forced to format my internal hard drive and that isn't an option.

Thank you all very much. I'm still a noob at using freenas so i appreciate any help. Thanks

Here is a picture of the error message

Photo 23-04-2014 3 17 11 pm.jpg

cyberjock

Inactive Account
I will say that SD cards are NOT recommended or supported on FreeNAS. So maybe you should try a real USB stick and see if the booting process will finish. ;)

I added the warning in the manual not to use converters. And I did that because they cause problems that aren't always directly attributable to the conditions.

diedrichg

Wizard
You also may have difficulty having the BIOS determine which usb device to boot to. Most can do that with no problem but make sure you have that set correctly.

If you still have issues booting to FreeNAS on your _USB_ drive you may have a failed installation. Try the CD ISO installation. If that didn't work then use the IMG installation or vice versa.

Sent from my SGH-I337 using Tapatalk

Chisomo Banzi

Dabbler
Ill give booting from a USB a try.