Explorer / Media Player crash while using shared folder.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Killjoy7

Cadet
This is my first attempt on FreeNAS. I installed FreeNAS on an 8GB usb stick, and created a volume of 4x2TB drives = 5.3TB, using ZFS raid-z ... I wanna be able to save videos/photos on the server and open them from the network. By reading the how-to and manuals I managed to set the whole thing up (maybe I hit a few more ticks than needed) and the sharing appeared to be fully functional. Viewable from my win7 PC, permissions ok in order to write on it, copying speed of 31-34 MB/s using gigabit ethernet...

Now, there are 2 sides of the same coin...

1) I will double click on the folder with videos/photos in it, it opens, it starts scanning the files (for properties etc, the green bar on the address area) and it takes forever. I right click on a file it takes about 2-3 secs to open the menu. I open a video with WMP it takes 10+ secs for it to load, it plays for a few secs and it freezes, I move the video forward it crashes... Photos with windows viewer take about the same time to open.

2) Some other times everything will work fine. I will open the folder, files will show up quickly, menus open fast. I load a video with VLC it starts in less than 2 secs, ffw, stopping, closing the vid all work great. Photos open fast. Everything ok. I try to play the same file with WMP... it crashes, again.

Also I have noticed 2 more things. First, when the files are in thumbnail mode(small - big doesn't matter), it has way bigger chances for the explorer to crash than when files are shown in list or detail mode. Secondly, when the explorer crashes the whole PC crashes, it takes a couple of mins for it to get things back together. No folder loads, My Computer shows no devices, loads forever e.t.c.

I run a decent PC with a Core i7 2600k, an SSD vertex 3 120GB and 16gb of 1600Mhz ram on win7.