Expanding Storage Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ACGIT

Cadet
I'm pretty new to Freenas 8. I tried it way back a few years ago, and decided to roll my own. Upon looking at the new version 8, I believe it's something to get to my biz clients. In any case, I have a question:

In testing in my vm environment I setup a machine that initially had 1 x 4GB drive setup for the OS and 2 x 10GB drives for storage, setup as ZFS Mirror. I added a 3rd 10GB drive to check out the ZFS drive expansion. When adding the new volume, I choose to add it to my 2x10GB storage pool I already setup. However, when I did this and looked under "Volume Status" it showed my 2 drive mirror set, and then below that it showed the 1 new 10GB drive as "Stripe". The overall storage pool capacity did increase as expected, but I wonder if let's say that new 3rd drive were to go bad, and some data was already on that 3rd drive as part of the data array, and I replaced it, would I loose data like in a traditional "Raid-0" stripe?

Thanks for the answers. I look forward to them all.

toddos

Contributor
The third drive is "striped" with itself (basically in this case "striped" just means "not mirrored"). If the drive dies, it's dead and there's no way to recover it. Worse, if the drive dies, the rest of your zpool is also dead and the data on your mirrored drives will be lost. If you want to expand in this way (adding zdevs to existing pools), you need to at least do it in mirrored groups. So rather than adding 1x10GB drive to a zpool with an existing 2x10GB mirrored zdev, you should add a 2x10GB mirrored zdev.

Ideally, you should properly size your pool up front based on future expectations, if you can afford it.

ACGIT

Cadet
Toddos, Thanks. I pretty much thought that was the case. So in reality it does act like a Raid0 with no redundancy/parity, but did not know that it would effectively kill the remaining raid1 array. Interesting. Thanks for the fast reply.:cool:

cyberjock