ESXI 6.0 & Free Nas 9.1 10gig setup help

Status
Not open for further replies.

dashpuppy

Dabbler
I'm new to this FreeNAS stuff so be nice :)

I have a home lab I'm setting up and playing with, the main server is a Dell R710 running ESXI6.0 ( free edition for home )
& a spare dell computer with 8 gigs ram and a single 1tb drive ( just for testing now ) my plan is to use a pair of HP 10GB Single Port Mellanox cards in each box and create a SMB or Iscsi link path just for storage for more vm's. I have a single SFP= 10g gable to link the two machines together.

I'm looking for some guidance and step for step to get this working and tested, once i am happy im going to be upgrading the test ( dell storage ) machine to a Dell R310 with 4 x 3tb drives for more storage..

Can anyone guide me ?

First question, Do i need to setup a static ip on each card in esxi * FreeNAS? my home network starts with 172.x.x.x and i was thinking about using a 10.0.0.1 & 10.0.0.2 for the 10gig network cards single path.

Last edited by a moderator:

RichTJ99

Patron
Hi,

I have a freenas vm as a dedicated backup of my physical freenas box.

https://b3n.org/freenas-9-3-on-vmware-esxi-6-0-guide/

I used that guide but I am not sure if that will help with the 10gig card. I would expect if you pass it through to freenas it should work if freebsd has the drivers.

Thanks,
Rich

Mirfster

Doesn't know what he's talking about
Iscsi link path just for storage for more vm's.
Not sure of your Server Specs, but note iSCSI is going to require more RAM, a SLOG (IMHO) and running Mirror vDevs. Also there is other caveats you need to be aware of to have it properly setup.
I have a single SFP= 10g gable to link the two machines together.
That is fine, while I do not use those cards I *think* they are natively supported.