Do I Have the Right Motherboard?

Status
Not open for further replies.

FittyFrank

Cadet
Hi guys,

I'm new to freenas as I've only used it over the last month. I first set it up on a very old box to see what it was all about and used UFS. Then I set up a zfs mirror with two 250 GB drives to see if I could configure media streaming to my ps3 and wii, etc. This all worked on an old HP Compaq dc5700 computer with 4 GB of ram (link: http://www.cnet.com/products/hp-compaq-dc5700-microtower-series/specs/). However, my write speeds were only 1-3 MB/sec. I thought this was due to old hardware and not meeting the required 8 GB of memory.

I decided to build something more modern to meet the ZFS requirements.
ASRock H81M-DGS R2.0 LGA 1150 Intel H81 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 Micro ATX Intel Motherboard (LINK: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157483)
Intel Core i3-4130T Haswell 2.9GHz LGA 1150 35W
Corsair Vengeance 8GB (2x4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR 1600 (PC312800) Desktop Memory Model CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9
Three WD Red 2TB 6 GB/s NAS Hard Drives

Before I go on with the what I've been trying to figure out, my first question is, does my motherboard need to support raid in order to create a raid zfs volume in FreeNAS? I assumed with software raid that FreeNAS would handle that. Isn't onboard motherboard raid just a cheaper alternative to a designated raid controller card? Maybe this question is too dumb to be asked anywhere because I can't find an answer.

If the answer is yes, I will replace my motherboard with a more appropriate one.
If the answer is no, that the volume should still be created with my current motherboard, then I'm afraid I have more questions.

I've been at this problem for a couple weeks, and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Frank

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Ok, couple of things to keep in mind:

a) Make Sure your motherboard supports ECC memory. The one you chose does not support ECC! You need a C2xx PCH to use ECC.