Difference between CIFS permission set in Windows and how FreeNAS recognize them

Status
Not open for further replies.

BAlfredo

Cadet
Hi to everyone,
this is my first time in the forum, because i use without problem FreeNas from version 8 (and before version 7) as NAS for exporting CIFS Shared Folder in a Windows Environment binded sometimes with a Samba Active Directory (Resara) or Windows Server DC.
After i've upgraded one of the box to FreeNAS 9.3, i've noticed that if I set the permission of a folder from Windows, giving ad example the Full Control permission to the DOMAIN\Administrator user, when i use the getfacl command on the freenas box i retrieve that DOMAIN\Administrator is viewed as group.

I've made a test lab for simulating the problem; here's an example :

upload_2015-5-6_12-21-25.png

[root@freenas] /mnt/volume# getfacl pollaio/
# file: pollaio/
# owner: NEWCONTOSO\administrator
# group: NEWCONTOSO\domain users
group:NEWCONTOSO\fattoria_mckenzie:rwxp-daARWc---:fd----:allow
group:NEWCONTOSO\administrator:rwxpDdaARWcCo-:fd----:allow

Thank's in advice for the help and please excuse any mistakes as English is my second language.
Regards
Alfredo

anodos

Sambassador
iXsystems
Hi to everyone,
this is my first time in the forum, because i use without problem FreeNas from version 8 (and before version 7) as NAS for exporting CIFS Shared Folder in a Windows Environment binded sometimes with a Samba Active Directory (Resara) or Windows Server DC.
After i've upgraded one of the box to FreeNAS 9.3, i've noticed that if I set the permission of a folder from Windows, giving ad example the Full Control permission to the DOMAIN\Administrator user, when i use the getfacl command on the freenas box i retrieve that DOMAIN\Administrator is viewed as group.

I've made a test lab for simulating the problem; here's an example :

View attachment 7627

[root@freenas] /mnt/volume# getfacl pollaio/
# owner: NEWCONTOSO\administrator
# group: NEWCONTOSO\domain users