Dell T430

stevedparry

Cadet
Hey all

Synology user here, I'm wanting to move to Truenas Scale.
I have a Dell T430 server which I was wanting to use

I understand the PERC H730 that is in the server is not good, So was intending to fit a LSI 9211 in IT Mode.
This will mount 8 x 10tb SAS drives in the hotswap trays. (I dont intend to use the hotswap feature)
I was thinking of using either RAIDZ-1 or RAIDZ-2
I intend to use something like 2 x SSD for the boot drive in mirror mode (truenas mirror not hardware)
It has 16gb of memory but will probably up this to 64gb

I have all the parts apart from the controller.

Im pretty much using for storage and lab work so docker instances mainly (im a software developer by trade)

Is there anything I've missed, will this be sufficient?

NugentS

MVP
I would suggest RAIDZ2 rather than Z1
What will you use to backup ?
64GB is good, 16 is OK - IMHO absolute minimum
9211 is fine for HDD's, don't expect to mount many SSD's on it and get good performance - it doesn't have the guts for many of them.

Not sue how you will "turn off" hot swap. But whatever

stevedparry

Cadet
I would suggest RAIDZ2 rather than Z1
What will you use to backup ?
64GB is good, 16 is OK - IMHO absolute minimum
9211 is fine for HDD's, don't expect to mount many SSD's on it and get good performance - it doesn't have the guts for many of them.

Not sue how you will "turn off" hot swap. But whatever

Thanks for replying NugentS

Yeah I will probably use RaidZ2
I'll be using my old synology
I though 64GB would be good, from what I've read the ZFS filesystem works better with more ECC memory
Yeah HDD's are all I intend to use, I may add a cache drive onto a different sata controller later. Storage is more important that performance.

I meant I wouldnt be pulling out any drives whilst the server is on :)

Cheers

sfatula

Guru