Deleting files via command prompt

Status
Not open for further replies.

grw

Cadet
Hello,

hope it goes into this category. I'm a beginner so sorry in advance for some dumb questions:).

My backup software filled the HDD on my NAS on HP Proliant.
The disk is full and I can't get into it via the network address, through Windows.
I can log in into freenas or work via the screen connected into the HP and a keyboard.

I presume I have to delete some files manually and via the command prompt either from FreeNas or the console.

Could you give me the details on this procedure (I am not so skilled at Linux bud I can use the commands like ls, cd, rm).
Do I presume correctly that I can get "to the files" via the command line?? I need to get into the folder called "mnt" (the mount disk) and then further.

Thank you. If there is already a topic specifically for this, please link it.

Bidule0hm

Server Electronics Sorcerer
Yes, the files are in /mnt/your_pool/the_files but IIRC if you're at 100 % usage rm might not work so you'll have to first truncate some files by doing echo "" > your_file and then when enough space has been freed you can use rm as usual.

Also, do you have any snapshots enabled? because if you do then deleting files will do nothing until you delete some snapshots too.

grw

Cadet
Thanks for your reply.

I think it is at 100 % unfortunatelly, I will try and see. If it works without the echo command.

For snapshots, I have to check it because I did not set this Nas up.

Or is there any easier way? Would it be easier to boot on my pc into ubuntu and connect the disk from the HP directly and delete the files or it won't work this way?

leenux_tux

Patron