Degraded disk replacement problem: boot hangs after clearing CMOS

NAS-Carl

Cadet
Hello,

Build information

Motherboard: Asrock E3C236D4U​
Hard Disks: 4x Seagate ST 4000NM0033​
Problem statement
TrueNAS Scale alerted me one of my drives was degraded. I offlined the drive, powered down my server, and replaced the bad drive with a new one. When I turned on my server, it hanged with message DXE PCI Bus Enumeration 93. I cleared CMOS, then restarted the server and was able to get as far as the BIOS. From there, TrueNAS started to load, but the serial console cut out at a certain point; I am managing my system via IPMI. The boot does not appear to have been successful, as I cannot reach the web interface.

I know there is more information I should provide, but I don't know how. I'm an amateur and not very experienced.

Any insights would be appreciated. Thank you.

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler
Well, let's start with the basics:
  • The serial console cuts out, but what about the graphical console?
  • Update the system firmware, if an update is available
  • Replace the battery with a fresh one
Also, do you have any PCIe cards in the system?

NAS-Carl

Cadet
Thank you for your reply.

The system firmware is up to date, and the CMOS battery is new.

I do have a couple PCIe cards in the system. One is a graphics card so I could have an HDMI connection; the motherboard only has VGA. When the serial console blanks out, I tried plugging in the HDMI but got no signal.

I should also have mentioned in my original post that I have one additional Western Digital hard disk (WD40EZRZ) in the system, plus a Samsung SSD (840 EVO) and a SK Hynix NVMe drive (BC711). The NVMe drive is my boot drive.

Here's a screenshot of the boot menu I'm able to get to:

Thanks again for your help.

Screenshot 2023-03-10 115608.png

Ericloewe

Server Wrangler