boot pool DEGRADED even after replacement

MarioW

Dabbler
I am still quite new to FreeNAS - but I think I am doing ok in general. My FreeNAS setup is running since a few weeks - but I have experienced a strange behavior of my boot pool that I don't understand:
I wanted to have one big mirrored data pool of 8 TB for my data, additionaly a "fast" 500 GB SSD to place my VM images.

As boot pool, I decided to buy a small SSD hard drive (first I went with a SanDisk Drive 120GB, nothing special but new from store).
I installed FreeNAS 11.2 U5 on it and upgraded to U6 later.

After activating E-Mail notifications I got this message:

Code:
Checking status of zfs pools:
NAME              SIZE  ALLOC   FREE  CKPOINT  EXPANDSZ   FRAG    CAP  DEDUP  HEALTH  ALTROOT
IronWolfPro_8TB  7.25T   859G  6.41T        -         -     0%    11%  1.00x  ONLINE  /mnt
SSD_500GB         460G  3.82G   456G        -         -     0%     0%  1.00x  ONLINE  /mnt
freenas-boot      111G   762M   110G        -         -      -     0%  1.00x  DEGRADED  -

pool: freenas-boot
 state: DEGRADED
status: One or more devices has experienced an error resulting in data
    corruption.  Applications may be affected.
action: Restore the file in question if possible.  Otherwise restore the
    entire pool from backup.
   see: http://illumos.org/msg/ZFS-8000-8A
  scan: scrub repaired 0 in 0 days 00:00:02 with 29 errors on Fri Oct  4 03:45:02 2019
config:

NAME        STATE     READ WRITE CKSUM
    freenas-boot  DEGRADED     0     0     1
      ada0p2    DEGRADED     0     0     5  too many errors

errors: 27 data errors, use '-v' for a list

I tried to scrub the Boot pool - didn't help. I really wondered, because the SSD was new - but ok, I bought a new one - this time a WD SSD with - again - 120 GB SSD. (see my signature).